Printed Money INDEX, 1962 > Issues


Next Page>Next Country>             

COS, Prez:
Hassan Sheikh
9.6.2022 >



جمهورية الصومال الفدرالية
- SOMALIA Banknotes, 1962 > Issues

جمهورية الصومال الفدرالية
Jamhuuriyadda Federaalka Soomaaliya

Federal Republic of Somalia

History: 1548 TUR; 1875 EGY; 1884 GBR; 1905 ITA; 1941 GBR; 26.6.1960 SML; 1.7.1969 SOM; 1.8.2012 Federal Republic of Somalia
The first banknotes attributable to Somalia were issued in 1962.
Currency History:
ISM currency 1893-1925; ITA 1925-36; IEA 1936-42; EAF 1942-50; ? 1950-62; 1962 > SOM
- Page Catalog
Denominations Dates Issuing Authority

جمهورية الصومال
Jamhuuriyadda Soomaaliyeed
Somalia Republic

26.6.1960 Independence of British Somaliland as State of Somaliland; 1.1.1960 Unification of Somaliland with Italian Somalia as Somali Republic
Somalia Paper Money, 1962 Issues 1 P.1 - P.4 5 - 100 Scellini
1962 Banca Nazionale Somala
Somalia Paper Money, 1966 Issues 5 P.5 - P.8 5 - 100 Scellini
1966 Banca Nazionale Somala
Somalia Paper Money, 1968 Issues 9 P.9 - P.12 5 - 100 Scellini
1968 Banca Nazionale Somala

الجمهورية الديمقراطية الصومالية
Jamhuuriyadda Dimuqraadiga Soomaaliya
Somali Democratic Republic

21.10.1969 Somali Democratic Republic
Somalia Paper Money, 1971 Issues 13 P.13 - P.16 5 - 100 Scellini
1971 Banca Nazionale Somala
Somalia Paper Money, 1975 Issues 17 P.17 - P.20 5 - 100 Shilin
1975 Somali National Bank
Somalia Paper Money, 1978 Issues 20A P.20A - P.24 5 - 100 Shilin
1978 Central Bank of Somalia
Somalia Paper Money, 1980 Issues 26 P.26 - P.30 10 - 100 Shilin
1980/81 Central Bank of Somalia
Somalia Paper Money, 1983/89 Issues 31 P.31 - P.35 5 - 100 Shilin
1983/89 Central Bank of Somalia
Somalia Paper Money, 1989/96 Issues 36 P.36 - P.37 500 - 1,000 Shilin
1983/96 Central Bank of Somalia

جمهورية الصومال
Jamhuuriyadda Soomaaliyeed
Somalia Republic

1.1.1991 Somalia collapses; 21.7.1991 Somali Republic


27.7. 1992 - 27.8.2000 United Nations declares Somalia to be a country "without a government."

جمهورية الصومال الفدرالية
Jamhuuriyadda Federaalka Soomaaliya

Federal Republic of Somalia

1.7.1969 SOM; 1.8.2012 Federal Republic of Somalia
Images Needed New P.New - - Central Bank of Somalia


Somalia Paper Money, 1991 North Forces Issues R1 P.R1 - P.R2 20 - 50 Shilin
1991 Central Bank of Somalia


Somalia Paper Money, 1999 Puntland Issue R10 P.R10 1,000 Shilin
1990(2000) Central Bank of Somalia

BACKGROUNDER (From CIA World Factbook - Somalia)

Britain withdrew from British Somaliland in 1960 in order to allow its protectorate to join with Italian Somaliland and form the new nation of Somalia. In 1969, a coup headed by Mohamed SIAD Barre ushered in an authoritarian socialist rule that managed to impose a degree of stability in the country for a couple of decades. After the regime's overthrow early in 1991, Somalia descended into turmoil, factional fighting, and anarchy. In May of 1991, northern clans declared an independent Republic of Somaliland that now includes the administrative regions of Awdal, Woqooyi Galbeed, Togdheer, Sanaag, and Sool. Although not recognized by any government, this entity has maintained a stable existence, aided by the overwhelming dominance of a ruling clan and economic infrastructure left behind by British, Russian, and American military assistance programs. The regions of Bari, Nugaal, and northern Mudug comprise a neighboring self-declared autonomous state of Puntland, which has been self-governing since 1998, but does not aim at independence; it has also made strides toward reconstructing a legitimate, representative government, but has suffered some civil strife. Puntland disputes its border with Somaliland as it also claims portions of eastern Sool and Sanaag. Beginning in 1993, a two-year UN humanitarian effort (primarily in the south) was able to alleviate famine conditions, but when the UN withdrew in 1995, having suffered significant casualties, order still had not been restored. The mandate of the Transitional National Government (TNG), created in August 2000 in Arta, Djibouti, expired in August 2003. A two-year peace process, led by the Government of Kenya under the auspices of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), concluded in October 2004 with the election of Abdullahi YUSUF Ahmed as Transitional Federal President of Somalia and the formation of a transitional government, known as the Somalia Transitional Federal Institutions (TFIs). The Somalia TFIs include a 275-member parliamentary body, known as the Transitional Federal Assembly (TFA), a transitional Prime Minister, Ali Mohamed GHEDI, and a 90-member cabinet. The TFIs are currently divided between Mogadishu and Jowhar, but discussions to co-locate the TFIs in one city are ongoing. Suspicion of Somali links with global terrorism further complicates the picture.

 "Somaliland" secessionists provide port facilities to landlocked Ethiopia and establish commercial ties with regional states; "Puntland" and "Somaliland" "governments" seek support from neighboring states in their secessionist aspirations and in conflicts with each other; Ethiopia has only an administrative line with the Oromo region of southern Somalia and maintains alliances with local Somali clans opposed to the unrecognized Somali Interim Government, which plans eventual relocation from Kenya to Mogadishu; rival militia and clan fighting in southern Somalia periodically spills over into Kenya

p.j.symes The Banknotes of Somalia Part 4
The Banknotes of Somalia Part 3
The Banknotes of Somalia Part 2
The Banknotes of Somalia Part 1
SomaliNet Press Release Central Bank of Somalia
SomaliaBackgrounder Political-Historical Backgrounder

World Statesmen

World Statesmen - Somalia

CIA World Factbook - Somalia